top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Hardy

A School-Wide Problem-Based Learning Model

I have long been fan of problem-based learning (PBL) approaches to education. The world is full of problems in need of solutions. So, I see PBL not only as a pedagogical tool to aid in student learning, but as a way to leverage the creativity and intellectual energy that students put into their education to serve society. I'll talk in a future blog about the PBL program I dream of implementing, but here I wanted to share this inspiring video about Sammamish High School in Washington State. Starting in 2010 with the aid of an Investing in Innovation (I3) grant from the Department of Education, Sammamish undertook the process of transforming itself into a problem-based school, where PBL forms the basis of the school's entire curriculum. This is just too cool!


For more information about Sammamish High School’s ongoing PBL-focused curriculum, see https://bsd405.org/shspbl/pbl-101/

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page